Section 4(1)(b)(ii)

FUNCTIONS/DUTIES AND POWERS OF OFFICERS

The main function of the **Election Department** is (a) Preparation of Electoral Rolls of the 60 Assembly Constituency and 60 Assembly Segments of the 2 (two) Parliamentary Constituencies of Manipur State; (b) Preparation and issue of Electors Photo Identity Cards; (c) Conduct of Election to the House of the People (Lok Sabha) and State Legislative Assemblies as well as the Presidential Election; (d) To assist the Delimitation Commission in the Delimitation of Assembly and Parliamentary Constituencies; (e) Appointment of Statutory Officers like DEOs, ROs, AROs, EROs, AEROs, etc; and (f) Any other election-related works assigned by Commission from time to time.

The powers and duties of various functionaries of the Election department are as below:

The Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) supervises the above-mentioned activities of all the Constituencies through the statutory powers vested in him as per the Election laws. He exercises his Administrative and Financial Powers provided as Secretary (Election) and Head of the Election Department.

The District Election Officers (DEO) are the District Commissioners of the 16 Districts who as per the statutory powers vested, coordinate and supervise all above mentioned work in the district/area within their jurisdiction for all the Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies. They are also the Appellate officers to hear the Appeal arising out of any decision of the Electoral Registration Officers working under their charge.

The Electoral Registration Officer (ERO) is generally the Sub Divisional Magistrate (SDM) or Additional District Magistrate (ADM) of the area who as a statutory authority under the Election laws is directly responsible for the election related work including preparation and updating of Electoral Roll, Preparation and issue of Electors Identity Card etc. in respect of the Assembly Constituencies under his/her charge

The Assistant Electoral Registration Officer (AERO) is generally the Sub Divisional Collector, who as a statutory authority under the election laws assists the Electoral Registration Officer of the Assembly Constituency and is competent to perform all his/her functions in respect of conducting all the election related activities of the Assembly Constituency assigned to him/her.

Returning Officers (RO)/Asstt. Returning Officers (ARO): It shall be the general duty of the Returning Officer/Asstt. Returning Officer at any election to the seat of Legislative Assembly or to the seat of Lok Sabha, to do all such acts and things as may be necessary for effectively conducting the election in the manner prescribed under the Acts and rules or Orders made for the purpose. He exercises all statutory powers vested in him under the Election laws.

Addl./JT. Chief Electoral Officer: They assist the Chief Electoral Officer in the discharge of his/her duty in the disposal of all Election related activities.

Asst. Chief Election Officers (ACEO): Assist the Chief Electoral Officer in discharge of his duty as well as in the disposal of all above mentioned election related activities.

All above mentioned officers perform their functions under the overall direction, superintendence and control of the Election Commission of India and exercise their powers as per the election law.

STAFF STRENGTH:

The Chief Electoral Officer, Manipur has a supporting staff strength of 285 (Two Hundred and Eighty-five) in numbers including Additional Chief Electoral Officer, Joint Chief Electoral Officer, Joint Chief Electoral Officer, III), and Assistant Chief Electoral Officer, Manipur and 13 (Thirteen) Election Officers. The sanctioned and current staffing strengths are furnished below: -

Sl. No.	Name of Post	Sanctioned strength	Actual Strength
1.	Jt.CEO (MCS Gr.I)	1	1
2.	Jt.CEO (II) (MCS Gr.I)	1	0
3.	Asstt. CEO (MCS Grade II)	1	1
4.	Database Administrator	1	1
5.	Election Officer	11	8
6.	Computer Programmer	1	0
7.	Senior Finance Officer	1	0
8.	Finance Officer	1	0
9.	Asstt. Computer Programmer	1	1
10.	Election Supervisor	11	4
11.	Computer Operator	86	84
12.	Head Clerk	1	1
13.	Sr. Accountant	1	0
14.	Draughtsman	1	0
15.	UDC	13	4
16.	AES	78	19
17.	LDC	5	3
18.	Driver	3	3
19.	Daftry	1	0
20.	Peon	31	16
21.	Chowkidar	1	1
22.	Sweeper-cum-mali	1	1
23.	Statistical Assistant	1	0
	Total	253	148

One Election Officer is posted at the Office of the DCs/DEOs in all districts.